Sea Foam Socks

Instead of finishing a paper like I’m supposed to, I spent today finishing a pair of socks that have taken forever. Knitting them didn’t take very long, but I ran out of yarn close to the end and didn’t know what to do. I was planning to buy more of that color, but I never got around to it. They languished with my UFOs for a long time, and I picked them back up recently in a kick to finish all of my UFOs. I had a different color of the same yarn, so I just made the toe out of that. These socks are a birthday present for a friend, and luckily I’m one month early, to the day. The pattern is Waving Lace Socks from Favorite Socks that’s edited by Ann Budd and Anne Merrow, and I have had it forever and love all of the patterns. This is the first one from the book that I’ve completed, and it was a blast to knit. The socks are knit out of Jo Sharp Alpaca Silk Georgette.

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “Sea Foam Socks

  1. Kim M-H says:

    They look amazing! Don’t tell your friend or she will get a present preview! I like the two colors – they look very cozy.

  2. Cerulean Moon says:

    These socks are fabulous! It’s such a bummer when you run out of yarn so close to being finished. I think the purple you added is perfect…gives them lots of personality. 🙂

  3. Belinda says:

    Those socks are gorgeous. I have that wool in that exact colourway but only 1.5 balls. Do you think that would be enough?

    • sarahelana says:

      Thanks so much. I barely squeaked by with two full balls, that’s why the toe is a contrasting color, I ran out of yarn. I would say that it’s possible if you took one repeat out of the leg, but I’m not really sure. If I had realized I would be short on yarn, I would have made both the heel and the toe a contrasting color (I might have also done that for the cuff). If you did that, you might be able to pull it off! Good luck, the pattern really is fun to make.

  4. Belinda says:

    Thanks for getting back to me so quickly 🙂 I just bought the Favorite Socks books and although I haven’t finished any socks from it, I want to make every single one!

    • sarahelana says:

      My pleasure. I’m always so excited when people want to talk about knitting, and I never pass up a chance to talk about handknit socks (I’m convinced that if everyone was wearing handknit socks, 3/4 of the worlds problems would just go away). Favorite Socks is to die for, and I’m slowly working my way through the whole thing. If you ever want to chat about knitting, I’m around. Have a great night.

Leave a Reply

