Bitch is Back

_MG_1131

My feet with New England foliage is literally the most generic picture I have ever taken. What does it have to do with this post, you may ask? Absolutely nothing. But I didn’t really have an “I’m back and changing the direction of this blog” picture in my arsenal. I’ll work on it.

I’ve thought a lot lately about blogging, and a friend encouraged me to pick it back up, so here I am (metaphorically obviously, I literally am somewhere else and if we go down this path we will get into some metaphysical shit). So I am back and this is going to be a very different place than it was, because honestly I am a very different person than I was when I last blogged.

This will be a space where I talk about knitting, creating, intersectional feminism, fat acceptance, mental illness, and whatever the fuck else I feel like. It will be political, and I will talk about race. and gender. and class. and how those things affect craft. I will say fuck. Potentially a lot. And I can guarantee that there will be missteps, because I am human and like most Americans was raised on a steady diet of problematic shit. I will try my best to not be problematic, acknowledge when I am, and then not do it again. I’m not saying that every post will be political, but they will exist. I refuse to allow blogging to be pretty pictures of beautiful crafts and yummy food and pretend that things like institutional racism don’t exist.  If you want to hear about the prison industrial complex one day and about my desire to roll around naked in alpaca the next this is probably the place for you. If you don’t want to roll around naked in alpaca you should probably GTFO (unless you’re allergic, then you have an excuse. I don’t know about the rest of you, y’all seem suspicious and I don’t trust your alpaca-hating selves). I am not from the south but I will probably say y’all a lot, because it’s my favorite gender-neutral second-person pronoun. Now say “gender neutral second person pronoun” 5 times fast. I can’t do it either. 

So, that’s all I have for you right now. At some point I’ll figure out a better way to end a post then telling y’all I’m ending the post, but that day is not today. We all need goals.

This is one of my favorite self-portraits that I made for a photography class. And it's blurry. You

This is one of my favorite self-portraits that I made for a photography class. And it’s out of focus. I am convinced that the best picture every single person has ever taken is blurry. Which is either poetry or really fucking annoying. Or both.

9 thoughts on “Bitch is Back

  1. befadee says:

    Yes! This is the best news I’ve heard all week! I am very much looking forward to hearing what you have to say and discussing some and/or all of these topics. I’ve been thinking about blogging again a lot lately too and this might just be the push I need. Thanks for always being an inspiration 🙂

    • sarahelana says:

      Thanks for the kind words Steph! You should totally blog again, and if you want when we have lunch we can brainstorm. Because I am not good at many things, but I’m a bomb brainstormer. ❤️❤️

  2. Nicole says:

    Go on, girl! Speak it!

  3. PatsyPoo says:

    Ok, I definitely need to come to California (or you can come here, but I’d rather get a holiday out of it) so we can go to the pub together! Definitely.

  4. PatsyPoo says:

    Ok, I definitely need to come to California (or you can come here, but I’d rather get a holiday out of it), so we can go to the pub together! Definitely.

  5. sarahbraves says:

    This all sounds amazing and inspiring — I’m very much looking forward to fan-girling this blog! I’m admittedly a baby feminist (and approximately a toddler-aged fiber freak), and I think those two topics go well together. Also, “fuck” is the best curse word there is. Cheers to the three F’s!

    • sarahelana says:

      Thanks!! I totally understand the baby feminist thing and was thinking of doing some feminism 101 stuff. The other thing is you can always ask questions (I don’t have an email for this blog yet so instagram is probably the best place to chat). This is my favorite stuff to talk about, so seriously feel free.

Leave a Reply

